Resembling the shape of a birthday cake with a candle on the top, the Cathedral Church of the Redemption also called as the Viceroy Church, is counted amongst the most beautiful, magnificent and grand churches of the country. The origin of this church can be traced way back to the early 1900. It took almost 8 years to complete the construction of the church. Although the construction work was completed in 1935, the church was opened for public worship much earlier, on January 18, 1931.
Designed by Henry Medd, the unique feature of this church is that it stays cool and pleasant even in extreme summers. Delicate domes, ornate and curved arches mark the extraordinary and magnificent beauty of this church. It was this beauty that compelled the Viceroy Lord Irwin to gift a silver cross and an organ to the church.